He would be ten today. 10/19/10

Myra posted this picture on her Facebook page today in memory of our son Colby. He would be ten years old today. We had three amazing years with him, his smile, his laugh, his hugs. It seems just like yesterday that he was right here with us. Myra always does a good job of honoring him and remembering him — it is honestly a bit too painful for me. I think I am the more emotional one of us. She posted his picture this morning and his smile and bright eyes took me back to that day on the lake. It was warm and early in the evening. We decided to hop in the boat and take it for a spin as we usually did. Blake was 6, Colby was 3 and Chloe was almost 2. We had so much fun with our three little kiddos. He was so full of life and love.

I love to see how the light hit his face, how it hit his bright orange and blue swim jacket. He loved to swim, he loved to jump into the water into my arms. He would jump out of the boat and from the side of the pool over and over and over… until my arms were so sore and worn out that I could not lift them up in the air any longer.

Colby I miss you bud. I look forward to seeing you again. I love you. Dad.

2 thoughts on “He would be ten today. 10/19/10

  1. This is an amazing story. I can’t get over your last sentence.

    Colby I miss you bud. I look forward to seeing you again. I love you. Dad.

    I have read that over and over again. I think it’s great you guys keep honoring Colby like that.

  2. You’re a great dad and a good man Larry. It’s inspirational to see you lead your family, and to see you glorify the Lord in all you do.

Leave a Reply

